An Overview Of Domestic Violence
Domestic violence in Nevada occurs when a person hits, pushes, strangles, elbows, or knocks down his or her spouse, boyfriend or girlfriend, or any roommate. Sometimes you can throw something at someone or even break his or her phone and /or computer, and you could have committed domestic violence. In Nevada, even if you don’t want to prosecute, the DA or city attorney can charge and even convict someone without your cooperation and consent. This is the one crime in which the confrontation clause of the U.S. Constitution does not apply. Also, if there is strangulation or substantial bodily harm, the charges will be a felony.
A Las Vegas Domestic Violence attorney needs to take cases very seriously, as the state of Nevada will frequently pursue criminal action against an alleged abuser — even if the victim does not want to prosecute. A conviction on these charges carries stiff penalties, including a loss of your right to own a firearm, high dollar fines, lengthy probation, and/or even jail time for a first offense.
With so much at stake, be sure that you have an experienced attorney who can help to protect your interests and preserve your rights. At Mace Law, I offer my clients more than 30 years of experience. I know the law, and I know what it takes to build a powerful defense on your behalf.
Domestic Violence Lawyer Serving Las Vegas, NV
In domestic violence cases, many a false accusation is made out of spite or to further the alleged victim’s own agenda. In certain divorce proceedings, for example, some mothers may claim spousal abuse and/or child abuse or neglect in order to damage a husband’s credibility in their custody battle.
I will work diligently to expose these accusations for the lies that they are and fight to protect your rights. I fight to win. My goal is to beat the charges against you so you can walk away with your rights and freedom intact. If we can’t beat the charges outright, I will work hard in every attempt to plead the case down to a much lesser offense, such as breach of the peace.
- First Offense:At least two days, up to six months in the Clark County Detention Center. $200 to $1,000 (plus court administrative costs). Not less than 48 hours or more than 120 hours of community service.Participation in weekly counseling sessions of not less than one and a half hours per week, for not less than six months or more than 12 months at the participant’s own expense.
Fine for assessment program ($100 fee)
- Second Offense:At least 10 days, and up to six months in the Clark County Detention Center. $500 to $1,000 (plus court administrative costs). Not less than 100 hours, or more than 200 hours of community service.Participation in weekly counseling sessions of not less than one-and-a-half hours per week for 12 months at the participant’s own expense.
- Third Offense:
One to five years in Nevada State Prison. A possible fine of not more than $10,000 (plus assessments). Felony non-probationable.
Contact Us Today To Find Out The Best Way To Handle Your Case. Call Now At (702) 843-0939
We are Open 24/7 for Emergencies.