An experienced Las Vegas Sex Crimes Lawyer is what you need if you are facing any type of sex crime charges in Nevada. There are various crimes in Nevada that are considered sex crimes, and these can range from indecent exposure to rape or sexual assault. Nevada sex crimes carry some of the steepest penalties of any crimes, up to life imprisonment, and it is always recommended that those facing these charges seek the assistance of an experienced sex crimes attorney to handle the case. Oftentimes, being convicted of a sex crime in Nevada will require you to register with the Nevada sex offender registry and subject you to lifetime supervision, as well as accept any other penalties that may be given as punishment for the crime committed.
Child pornography is one type of sex crime in Nevada that results in notably harsh punishments. Child pornography is defined as a visual display of sexual conduct involving a minor, and this display can come in the form of photographs, video, or other types of visual images. The production, possession, and distribution of child pornography is illegal in the State of Nevada, as well as anywhere else in the United States, and a person may expect to face harsh penalties if they are charged with child pornography-related offenses. Most significantly, whether the State of Nevada or the Federal Government chooses to prosecute any specific child pornography case can make huge differences in the penalties the accused is facing.
Child pornography charges are always felonies. A person found to be in possession of child pornography, creating child pornography, or distributing child pornography, can expect felony level punishments if convicted. For possessing child pornography, a person can expect a penalty of 1 to 6 years spent in prison with fines that go as high as $5,000 for a first offense. For subsequent offenses, a person can expect additional felony level charges that can carry a punishment of imprisonment anywhere from 1 year to life. Federal level sentences are based upon the federal sentencing guidelines and are usually based upon the number of images or videos possessed by the person charged. Overall, federal sentences are usually double or triple anything the Nevada State courts will impose.
Distributing child pornography is also a felony offense, and being convicted of distributing this type of pornography can cause a person to face penalties between 1 and 15 years in prison as well as a fine not exceeding $15,000. Producing or allowing a child to assist in the production of child pornography carries the greatest penalties in Nevada, and a person convicted of this crime can expect a fine of up to $100,000 as well as a life sentence in a Nevada state prison. With regards to distribution charges, the use of file sharing software to download child pornography has placed unsuspecting individuals in the category of distributors, since file sharing software almost always automatically allow a user’s files to be uploaded to other users of the file sharing service, thus making everyone using the service a “distributor” facing much stiffer penalties. Sex trafficking of a child under 18 years of age NRS 201.300.2a1 is a category A felony which carries a potential life sentence.
Indecent exposure is defined in Nevada as making any open indecent or obscene exposure of his or her body parts, and the exposure of one’s genitalia, buttocks, or breasts can constitute indecent exposure. Indecent exposure must be done intentionally to be considered a crime, and wardrobe malfunctions or accidents that unintentionally show a person’s body may not cause criminal charges to be filed.
A first indecent exposure charge will be considered a gross misdemeanor, which is more serious than a standard misdemeanor, but not as harsh as a felony. This will come along with punishments up to 1 year spent in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. Those convicted of indecent exposure will also have to register as sex offenders with the Nevada registry. Subsequent indecent exposure convictions will be considered felonies, which also carry harsher penalties. Those facing subsequent convictions can expect punishments of 1 to 4 years in a Nevada state prison as well as fines as high as $5,000 and sex offender registration.
Despite popular belief, prostitution is NOT legal in Las Vegas or Clark County, Nevada. In addition, prostitution and soliciting a prostitute can carry significant legal penalties for those convicted. Prostitution or soliciting a prostitute in the city of Las Vegas will typically come with misdemeanor charges and appropriate punishments; however, punishments and charges will be more serious if the prostitute is found to be under the age of 18.
Adults charged with prostitution or soliciting a prostitute may expect a 6 month jail sentence as well as a fine around $1,000; however, if a person is facing a first time offense, probation is often given rather than jail time. For subsequent convictions, the benefit of probation is often not given, and a person will then be forced to serve their time incarcerated.
If a person is found to have solicited a prostitute that was a minor under the age of 18, he or she will then face category E felony charges, rather than the misdemeanor charges typically given for this crime with another adult. These felony charges will come with harsher penalties, including a 4 year prison sentence in a Nevada state prison and about $5,000 in fines.
We represent clients in the following Las Vegas sex crime matters:
- Rape and/or Sexual Assault
- Child Pornography
- Federal Child Pornography Crimes
- Child Molestation
- Statutory Rape
- Internet Sex Crimes
Call For A Free Legal Consultation